January 17, 2015

Queen - Soundtrack "Flash Gordon" (1980)

Artist:  Queen
Title:  Flash Gordon (OST)
Release:  1980
Format:  LP
Label:  EMI Records
Catalog#  1A 062-64203

“Flash Gordon” is the ninth studio album, and first soundtrack album by British rock band Queen, and is one of the two film soundtracks they produced, along with “Highlander”. It is the album to the science fiction film “Flash Gordon”, and features lyrics on only two tracks. "Flash's Theme" was the only single to be released from the album, under the title "Flash".
There are two versions of the opening track. The album version ("Flash's Theme") is the start to the film, with part of the dialogue from the first scene. The single version ("Flash") features parts of the dialogue taken from various parts of the film. This version was also included on the Greatest Hits compilation from 1981.
All but two of the tracks on the album ("Flash's Theme" and "The Hero") are instrumentals, although most feature dialogue sampled from the film. The album makes extensive use of synthesisers, which Queen had employed for the first time on their previous album, The Game, although to a much lesser extent.
Side A of the album, except for the opening track and Freddie Mercury's "Football Fight" (also chosen as a B-side for the "Flash" single), contains mostly synthesiser, vocal, guitar and drum soundscapes (accompanied by the movie dialogues), written and performed by Mercury, Roger Taylor and John Deacon. Side B, while starting with similar compositions by Deacon and Taylor, develops for the most part around the full-band rockier themes, mainly "Flash's Theme" and "Battle Theme", composed and arranged by Brian May. The last track, "The Hero", while an individual song, reprises both motifs. Different takes of the song were used for the end credits in the film and for the album finale.
The album contains mostly the score performed by Queen, and only two short, uncredited fragments of Howard Blake's orchestral score (appearing in "The Kiss" and "The Hero").

Side one
01.  Flash's Theme   (3:22)
02.  In The Space Capsule (The Love Theme)   (2:21)
03.  Ming's Theme (In The Court Of Ming The Merciless)   (2:53)
04.  The Ring (Hypnotic Seduction Of Dale)   (1:15)
05.  Football Fight   (1:29)
06.  In The Death Cell (Love Theme Reprise)   (2:26)
07.  Execution Of Flash   (0:43)
08.  The Kiss (Aura Resurrects Flash)   (2:11)

Side two
01.  Arboria (Planet Of The Tree Men)   (1:41)
02.  Escape From The Swamp   (1:37)
03.  Flash To The Rescue   (2:47)
04.  Vultan's Theme (Attack Of The Hawk Men)   (1:15)
05.  Battle Theme   (2:20)
06.  The Wedding March   (0:56)
07.  Marriage Of Dale And Ming (And Flash Approaching)   (2:04)
08.  Crash Dive On Mingo City   (0:46)
09.  Flash's Theme Reprise (Victory Celebrations)   (1:39)
10.  The Hero   (3:31)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a comment