Published Sunday, May 17, 2015 by with 0 comment

Emmylou Harris - Blue Kentucky Girl (1979)

Artist:   Emmylou Harris
Title:   Blue Kentucky Girl
Release:   1979
Format:   LP
Label:   Warner Bros. Records
Catalog#   WB 56627

“Blue Kentucky Girl” was a 1979 album by Emmylou Harris that found the singer delving much more deeply into traditional country than the country-rock sound of her previous releases.
Apart from a cover of The Drifters’ “Save The Last Dance For Me”, the album was largely made up of classic-styled country material in the vein of Loretta Lynn and Kitty Wells. One of her best-loved albums, the record includes songs ranging from The Louvin Brothers’ “Everytime You Leave” to Willie Nelson’s “Sister’s Coming Home” to Gram Parson’s signature “Hickory Wind”. Wesley Rose took special interest in Harris’ recording of “Beneath Still Waters”, which became a #1 smash.

Side one
1.  Sister’s Coming Home  (with Tanya Tucker)   (2:52)
2.  Beneath Still Waters   (3:41)
3.  Rough and Rocky   (3:50)
4.  Hickory Wind   (4:01)
5.  Save the Last Dance for Me   (3:30)

Side two
1.  Sorrow in the Wind  (with Sharon & Cheryl White)   (3:28)
2.  They’ll Never Take His Love From Me   (2:34)
3.  Everytime You Leave  (with Don Everly)   (2:58)
4.  Blue Kentucky Girl   (3:17)
5.  Even Cowgirls Get the Blues  (harmony by Linda Ronstadt and Dolly Parton)   (3:56)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a Comment