February 04, 2018

Published February 04, 2018 by Ad-Vinylrecords with 0 comment

Angela Bofill - Too Tough (1983) - Lp

Release:  1983
Genre:  Soul
Format:  LP
Label:  Arista Records
Catalog#  205273
Prijs:  €10,00

Angela Tomasa Bofill (born May 3, 1954) is an American R&B and jazz singer-songwriter.
Too Tough marks the fourth album released by the recording artist Angela Bofill, released in early 1983. This was her second release through Arista Records, with Narada Michael Walden again serving as joint music producer.
Too Tough performed better on the charts than her previous album, Something About You. The title track, "Too Tough", laced with double entendre, became a sizable dancefloor hit, spending four weeks at number two on the Billboard Dance chart. It also peaked at number five on the Billboard soul chart. The remainder of the album has similar dance-pop songs and a few soulful ballads.

Side A
A1. Too Tough  (5:36) 
A2. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing  (3:04) 
A3. Tonight I Give In  (3:21) 
A4. You Could Come Take Me Home  (3:51) 
A5. Love You Too Much  (3:56) 

Side B
B1. Is This A Dream  (5:11) 
B2. Song For A Rainy Day  (3:37) 
B3. I Can See It In Your Eyes  (3:31) 
B4. Accept Me (I’m Not A Girl Anymore)  (3:34) 
B5. Rainbow Inside My Heart  (3:44)

Vinyl: Goed
Cover: Goed


February 03, 2018

Published February 03, 2018 by Ad-Vinylrecords with 0 comment

Santana - Freedom (1987) – Lp

Release:  1987
Genre:  Latin Rock, Synth-pop
Format:  LP
Label:  CBS Records
Catalog#  450394 1
Prijs:  €10,00

Freedom is the fourteenth studio album by Santana. By this recording, Santana had nine members, some of which had returned after being with the band in previous versions. Freedom moved away from the more poppy sound of the previous album, Beyond Appearances and back to the band’s original Latin rock. It failed, however, to revive Santana’s commercial fortunes, reaching only ninety-five on the album chart.
Freedom marked several reunions in the Santana band, which was now a nonet. In addition to Carlos, the band consisted of percussionists Armando Pereza, Orestes Vilato, and Raul Rekow; returning drummer Graham Lear; bassist Alphonso Johnson; returning keyboardist Tom Coster, keyboardist Chester Thompson, and, on lead vocals, Buddy Miles, who had made a duet album with Santana 15 years before. Credited as an “additional musician” was keyboard player Greg Rolie, an original member. The music also marked a return from the hyper-pop sound of Val Garay on Beyond Appearances to a more traditional Santana Latin rock style. Thus, Freedom was a literal return to form, but, unfortunately, not to the quality of early Santana albums. And the group’s commercial decline continued, with the LP getting to only Number 95.
Recorded at: The Plant Studios, Sausalito, California

Side A
A1. Veracruz  (4:23)
A2. She Can’t Let Go  (4:45)
A3. Once It’s Gotcha  (5:42)
A4. Love Is You  (3:54)
A5. Songs Of Freedom  (4:28)

Side B
B1. Deeper, Dig Deeper  (4:18)
B2. Praise  (4:36)
B3. Mandela  (5:31)
B4. Before We Go  (3:54)
B5. Victim Of Circumstance  (5:21)

Album:  Goed
Cover:  Goed