Published Sunday, January 03, 2016 by with 0 comment

Abba - Gracias Por La Musica (1980) - Lp

Gracias Por La Música is a 1980 album by Swedish pop group ABBA. Gracias Por La Música was originally released due to the unexpected surge in popularity for the group in Latin American countries such as Mexico and Argentina after the release of the Spanish-language versions of "Chiquitita" and "I Have a Dream" in 1979.
These tracks were both released as singles and went on to become big hits. Encouraged by this success, the band therefore decided to record another eight tracks in Spanish and release a full-length album especially for the Latin American market.
The songs selected were familiar hits, plus tracks that were thought to have a Latin flavour, such as "Move On" and "Hasta Mañana".
The couple Buddy and Mary McCluskey, both working at RCA Records in Argentina at the time, were again called in to translate the lyrics. During the recording sessions which took place in January 1980 in the Polar Music studios the lead vocalists Agnetha Fältskog and Anni-Frid Lyngstad were helped with the pronunciation by Swedish/Spanish journalist Ana Martinez.
Neither Benny Andersson nor Björn Ulvaeus played an active role in the creation of the eight new Spanish tracks, leaving the production in the hands of the group's sound engineer Michael B. Tretow, who recorded the new Spanish vocal overdubs onto existing backing tracks at his home studio.
The absence of Andersson and Ulvaeus is most apparent on "Al Andar" (the Spanish version of "Move On") where the original opening speech from Ulvaeus was replaced by a more conventional opening verse sung by Agnetha.

Side A
A1.  Gracias Por La Musica (Thank You For The Music)  (3:48)  
A2.  Reina Danzante (Dancing Queen)  (3:50)  
A3.  Al Andar (Move On)  (4:05)  
A4.  Dame! Dame! Dame! (Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!)  (4:45)  
A5.  Fernando  (4:15) 

Side B
B1.  Estoy Soñando (I Have A Dream)  (4:44)  
B2.  Mamma Mia  (3:32)  
B3.  Hasta Mañana  (3:05)  
B4.  Conociendome, Conociendote (Knowing Me, Knowing You)  (4:02)  
B5.  Chiquitita  (5:26)

Release:  1980
Label:  Septima Records
Genre:  Europop
Format:  LP
Catalog#  SRLM 1

order / bestellen € 10,00

0 reacties:

Post a Comment