Published Wednesday, January 31, 2018 by with 0 comment

George Harrison & Friends - The Concert For Bangladesh (1971) - 3LP Boxset

Release:  1971
Genre:  Rock, Hindustani classical
Format:  3LP Boxset
Label:  Apple Records
Catalog#  STCX 3385
Prijs:  €25,00

The Concert for Bangladesh – originally titled The Concert for Bangla Desh – is a live triple album by George Harrison and celebrity friends, released on Apple Records in December 1971 in America and January 1972 in Britain. The album followed the two concerts of the same name, held on 1 August 1971 at New York's Madison Square Garden, featuring Harrison, Bob Dylan, Ravi Shankar, Ali Akbar Khan, Ringo Starr, Billy Preston, Leon Russell and Eric Clapton. The shows were a pioneering charity event, in aid of the homeless Bengali refugees of the Bangladesh Liberation War, and set the model for future multi-artist rock benefits such as Live Aid (1985) and the Concert for New York City (2001).
Co-produced by Phil Spector and featuring the latter's signature Wall of Sound in a live setting, the fundraiser album was delayed for three months due to protracted negotiations between Harrison and two record companies keen to protect their business interests, Capitol and Columbia/CBS. Besides the main performers, the musicians and singers on the recording include Badfinger, Jim Horn, Klaus Voormann, Alla Rakha, Jim Keltner, Jesse Ed Davis and Claudia Linnear. The box set's original packaging included a 64-page book containing photos from the concerts; the album cover, designed by Tom Wilkes, consisted of an image of a malnourished child sitting beside an empty food bowl.
On release, The Concert for Bangladesh was a major critical and commercial success, topping albums charts around the world, and went on to win the Grammy Award for Album of the Year in March 1973. Together with the 1972 Apple concert film directed by Saul Swimmer, the album gained Indian classical music its largest Western audience up until that time.

Side A
A1. George Harrison/Ravi Shankar - Introduction  (5:19)
A2. Ravi Shankar - Bangla Dhun (16:40)

Side B
B1. George Harrison - Wah-Wah (3:30)
B2. George Harrison - My Sweet Lord (4:36)
B3. George Harrison - Awaiting on You All (3:00)
B4. Billy Preston - That’s the Way God Planned It (4:20)

Side C
C1. Ringo Starr - It Don’t Come Easy (3:01)
C2. George Harrison / Leon Russell - Beware of Darkness (3:36)
C3. George Harrison - Band Introduction (2:39)
C4. George Harrison - While My Guitar Gently Weeps (4:53)

Side D
D1. Leon Russell, Don Preston - Medley: Jumpin’ Jack Flash/Young Blood  (9:27)
D2. George Harrison - Here Comes the Sun” (Acoustic)  (2:59)

Side E
E1. Bob Dylan - A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall (5:44)
E2. Bob Dylan - It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry (3:07)
E3. Bob Dylan - Blowin’ in the Wind (4:07)
E4. Bob Dylan - Mr. Tambourine Man (4:45)
E5. Bob Dylan - Just Like a Woman (4:49)

Side F
F1. George Harrison - Something (3:42)
F2. George Harrison - Bangla-Desh (4:55)

Album: Goed
Cover:  Gebruikerssporen


0 reacties:

Post a Comment