February 16, 2014

Camel - Nude (1981)

Artist:  Camel
Title:  Nude
Release:  1981
Format:  LP
Label:  Decca
Catalog#  6399110

“Nude” is a concept album released by English progressive rock band Camel in 1981. It was their eighth studio album. The album is based on a true story of a Japanese soldier (Hiroo Onoda) marooned on an island in World War II who doesn't know that the war is over. "Nude" derives from his family name "Onoda". The album's lyrics were mainly written by Susan Hoover, except "Please Come Home", which was written by Andrew Latimer. It was the last Camel album to feature original drummer Andy Ward.
More ambitious than the preceding I Can See Your House from Here, “Nude” is in many ways just as impressive. Although it's a less accessible effort, it has a number of quite intriguing passages, particularly since it boasts heavier improvisation, orchestration, and even some worldbeat influences. It's not as spacy as Camel's earlier progressive rock records, yet it is quite atmospheric, creating its own entrancing world.

Side one
1.  City Life   (5:02)  
2.  Nude   (0:22) 
3.  Drafted   (4:18)  
4.  Docks  (3:50)  
5.  Beached   (3:52)  
6.  Landscapes   (2:36) 

Side two
1.  Changing Places  (4:10)  
2.  Pomp & Circumstance   (2:03)  
3.  Please Come Home  (1:12)  
4.  Reflections   (2:45)  
5.  Captured  (3:13)  
6.  The Homecoming   (2:40)  
7.  Lies   (4:57)  
8.  The Last Farewell  (4:05)
    (a)The Birthday Cake
    (b) Nude´s Return

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a comment