Published Thursday, April 09, 2015 by with 0 comment

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young - Déjà Vu (1970)

Artist:  Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
Title:  Déjà Vu
Release:  1970
Format:  LP
Label:  Atlantic Records
Catalog#  ATL 50001

Déjà Vu is the second album by Crosby, Stills & Nash, and their first in the quartet configuration of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. Déjà Vu was greatly anticipated after the popularity of the first CSN album and given the addition of Young to the group, who at the time remained largely unknown to the general public. Stills estimates that the album took around 800 hours of studio time to record; this figure may be exaggerated, even though the individual tracks display meticulous attention to detail. The songs, except for “Woodstock”, were recorded as individual sessions by each member, with each contributing whatever was needed that could be agreed upon. Young does not appear on all of the tracks, and drummer Dallas Taylor and bassist Greg Reeves are credited on the cover with their names in slightly smaller typeface. Jerry Garcia plays pedal steel on “Teach Your Children” and John Sebastian plays harmonica on the title track. Four singles were released from the album, “Teach Your Children, “Woodstock”, “Our House” and “Carry On,” which all charting on the Billboard Hot 100.
In 2003, the album was placed on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Side one
1.  Carry On  (4:26)
2.  Teach Your Children  (2:53)
3.  Almost Cut My Hair  (4:31)
4.  Helpless  (3:33)
5.  Woodstock  (3:54)

Side two
1.  Déjà Vu  (4:12)
2.  Our House  (2:59)
3.  4 + 20  (2:04)
4.  Country Girl  (5:11)
     (a) Whiskey Boot Hill
     (b) Down, Down, Down
     (c) Country Girl (I Think You’re Pretty)
5.  Everybody I Love You  (2:21)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a Comment