Published Monday, July 27, 2015 by with 0 comment

Crosby, Stills & Nash - CSN (1977)

Artist:  Crosby, Stills & Nash
Title:  CSN
Release:  1977
Format:  LP
Label:  Atlantic Records
Catalog#  ATL 50369

“CSN” is a Crosby, Stills & Nash album released in 1977, the fifth album by the group, the second by the trio configuration and the first without Neil Young since his entry into the band. 2 singles taken from the album, “Just A Song Before I Go” and Stills’ “Fair Game”.
“CSN” featured strong writing from all three members, the last time for seventeen years that the band would compose songs and handle vocals without major assistance from outside sources. The production of the album fit in well with the ruling aesthetic of the time as featured in other blockbusters such as the Eagles’ Hotel California, Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours: well-crafted, melodic songs played with precision and balance, essaying the personal travails of the authors.
Many of Stills’ songs on the album echo his marital problems, with “Dark Star” returning to the Latin rhythms he had favored all the way back to his Buffalo Springfield days.
Crosby continued the existential probings consistent with much of his past work, and Nash offered both a radio-ready acoustic ballad with “Just a Song Before I Go”, and an elaborate set piece re-creating a vision of an LSD experience that he had in Winchester Cathedral with “Cathedral”. Many tracks were sweetened with a string section, a first on a CSNY project.

Side one
1.  Shadow Captain  (4:32)
2.  See the Changes  (2:56)
3.  Carried Away  (2:29)
4.  Fair Game  (3:30)
5.  Anything at All  (3:01)
6.  Cathedral  (5:15)

Side two
1.  Dark Star  (4:43)
2.  Just a Song Before I Go  (2:12)
3.  Run from Tears  (4:09)
4.  Cold Rain  (2:32)
5.  In My Dreams  (5:10)
6.  I Give You Give Blind  (3:21)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a Comment