Published Saturday, November 25, 2017 by with 0 comment

Toto - Isolation (1984) - Lp

Release: 1984
Genre:  Pop, Rock
Format:  LP
Label:  CBS Records
Catalog#  86305
Prijs:  €10,00

Isolation is the Gold-certified fifth studio album by Toto, released on October 18, 1984. This was one of two albums the band made with Fergie Frederiksen as the primary vocalist, the other being their soundtrack to Dune.

Having traded in lead singer Bobby Kimball for Fergie Frederiksen, a smooth tenor wailer in the tradition of Journey's Steve Perry, Toto proceeded to follow its power ballad smash Toto IV with a Journey clone album, minus the aching ballads that had made Journey such a success.
A workout for drummer Jeff Porcaro, keyboardist David Paich, and guitarist Steve Lukather, Isolation was anything but the kind of record those millions who had loved "Rosanna" were waiting for. It seemed intended to restore the bandmembers' heady studio reputations as hard rock technicians, which it did by dispensing with the elements that finally had made the band a big success in 1982.

Frederiksen, singing lead on seven of the ten tracks, replaced original Toto vocalist Bobby Kimball while the band was in the recording process for the album. Kimball had recorded vocals for some of the album's tracks prior to his termination; sources differ on how many - Kimball says most of the album, whereas David Paich and Steve Lukather say around 3 or 4 songs. Some of Kimball's background vocals can be heard on the record, such as in their single "Stranger in Town", and at least one song, "Lion", had a demo recording with Kimball on lead vocals before being re-recorded with Frederiksen

Side A
1.  Carmen   (3:25)
2.  Lion   (4:46)
3.  Stranger in Town   (4:47)
4.  Angel Don’t Cry   (4:21)
5.  How Does It Feel   (3:50)

Side B
1.  Endless   (3:40)
2.  Isolation   (4:04)
3.  Mr. Friendly   (4:22)
4.  Change of Heart   (4:08)
5.  Holyanna   (4:19)

Vinyl:  Goed
Cover:  Goed


0 reacties:

Post a Comment