Published Monday, December 18, 2017 by with 0 comment

Depeche Mode - A Broken Frame (1982) - Lp

Release: 1982
Genre: Synth-pop, Electronic 
Format:  LP
Label:  Mute Records
Catalog#  540039
Prijs:  €10,00

A Broken Frame is the second studio album by the English electronic band Depeche Mode, released on 27 September 1982 by Mute Records. The album was written entirely by Martin Gore and recorded after the departure of Vince Clarke, who had left the band to form Yazoo with singer Alison Moyet. Alan Wilder was part of a second tour in the United Kingdom occurring prior to the release of this album, but he had not officially joined the band yet, and thus, does not appear on the album.

Martin Gore has famously noted that Depeche Mode stopped worrying about its future when the first post-Vince Clarke-departure single, "See You," placed even higher on the English charts than anything else Clarke had done with them. Such confidence carries through all of A Broken Frame, a notably more ambitious effort than the pure pop/disco of the band's debut.
With arranging genius Alan Wilder still one album away from fully joining the band, Frame became very much Gore's record, writing all the songs and exploring various styles never again touched upon in later years. "Satellite" and "Monument" take distinct dub/reggae turns, while "Shouldn't Have Done That" delivers its slightly precious message about the dangers of adulthood with a spare arrangement and hollow, weirdly sweet vocals.
Much of the album follows in a dark vein, forsaking earlier sprightliness, aside from tracks like "A Photograph of You" and "The Meaning of Love," for more melancholy reflections about love gone wrong as "Leave in Silence" and "My Secret Garden."
 More complex arrangements and juxtaposed sounds, such as the sparkle of breaking glass in "Leave in Silence," help give this underrated album even more of an intriguing, unexpected edge. Gore's lyrics sometimes veer on the facile, but David Gahan's singing comes more clearly to the fore throughout -- things aren't all there yet, but they were definitely starting to get close.

The cover artwork is a photograph, but is intended to resemble a painting. It depicts a woman cutting grain in an East Anglian field, near Duxford in Cambridgeshire. It was taken by Brian Griffin (who had previously done the cover photograph for Speak & Spell and press photos for the band) using a mixture of natural and artificial lighting. Griffin cited as inspirations Ukrainian and Russian art, especially the work of Kazimir Malevich, and German romantic art. Griffin has displayed on his website a gallery of alternative images from the same shoot.
It was featured on the cover of Life Magazine's 1990 edition of "World's Best Photographs 1980–1990".

Side A
A1.   Leave in Silence   (4:51)
A2.   My Secret Garden   (4:46)
A3.   Monument   (3:15)
A4.   Nothing to Fear   (4:18)
A5.   See You   (4:34)

Side B
B1.   Satellite   (4:44)
B2.   The Meaning of Love   (3:06)
B3.   A Photograph of You   (3:04)
B4.   Shouldn’t Have Done That   (3:12)
B5.   The Sun & the Rainfall   (5:02)

Vinyl: Goed
Cover: Goed


0 reacties:

Post a Comment