September 28, 2020

Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band - Nine Tonight (1981) - €20,00

Nine Tonight is a live album by American rock band Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, released in 1981. The album was recorded at Cobo Hall in Detroit, Michigan, in June 1980 and at the Boston Garden in Boston, Massachusetts in October 1980. 
With the exception of three tracks - "Nine Tonight", "Tryin' To Live My Life Without You" and "Let It Rock" - the album is composed entirely of songs drawn from Seger's three previous studio albums. Only "Let It Rock" was repeated from the previous live album Live Bullet. "Tryin' to Live My Life Without You" was a U.S. top 5 pop hit, peaking at #5. The album's title track was originally recorded for the Urban Cowboy soundtrack album. 

Seger returned to the format a second time five years later with 1981's Nine Tonight. The album is comprised of versions of songs from Seger's previous three best-sellers: 1976's Night Moves, 1978's Stranger in Town, and 1980's Against the Wind. While Seger and his Silver Bullet Band can stretch out in a concert setting, the live versions here stick pretty close to their original studio versions. 
The cut of "Old Time Rock & Roll" included here proves to be even better than the original, while such Seger standards as "Against the Wind," "Night Moves," and "Rock & Roll Never Forgets" also prove to be highlights. 

Side A
A1.   Nine Tonight   (5:14)
A2.   Tryin’ To Live My Life Without You   (4:03)
A3.   You’ll Accomp’ny Me   (4:12)
A4.   Hollywood Nights   (4:49)

Side B
B1.   Old Time Rock & Roll   (5:17)
B2.   Mainstreet   (4:12)
B3.   Against the Wind   (5:27)
B4.   The Fire Down Below   (4:47)

Side C
C1.   Her Strut   (3:57)
C2.   Feel Like a Number   (4:10)
C3.   Fire Lake   (3:51)
C4.   Betty Lou’s Gettin’ Out Tonight   (2:59)
C5.   We’ve Got Tonight   (4:55)

Side D
D1.   Night Moves   (5:44)
D2.   Rock and Roll Never Forgets   (3:35)
D3.   Let It Rock   (10:36)

Release:  1981
Format:  2LP (Gatefold)
Genre:  Southern Rock
Label:  Capitol Records
Catalog#  400046

Vinyl:  VG+
Cover:  VG+

Prijs:  €20,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment