September 16, 2020

Philadelphia International All-Stars - Let´s Clean Up The Ghetto (1977) - €10,00

Issued in July 1977 as Let's Clean Up the Ghetto by the Philadelphia International All-Stars, this is one of Philly soul's most socially aware efforts.

The album's title track was a coming together of artists signed to Gamble & Huff's Philadelphia International Records: Lou Rawls, Billy Paul, Archie Bell, Teddy Pendergrass, Dee Dee Sharp Gamble, and Eddie Levert and Walter Williams of the O'Jays.
The compelling track with its "we're on the move'' bassline went to number four R&B, number 91 pop on Billboard's charts in summer 1977.

The profits were allotted to a charity program. Even though the rest of the LP consists of various unreleased tracks, the result is consistent. The brassy "The Big Gangster" by the O'Jays got airplay as an album track. Other highlights are the fervent "Now Is the Time to Do It" by Teddy Pendergrass; the buoyant, optimistic "New World Comin'" by Billy Paul' and Archie Bell & the Drells' celebration of seniors, "Old People," produced by Bunny Sigler

Side A
A1.   Lou Rawls - Trade Winds   (3:48)
A2.   The Philadelphia International All-Stars - Let's Clean Up The Ghetto   (8:42)
A3.   Dee Dee Sharp Gamble - Ooh Child   (3:32)
A4.   Teddy Pendergrass - Now Is The Time   (3:42)
A5.   The Three Degrees - Year Of Decision   (2:34)

Side B
B1.   The O'Jays - The Big Gangster   (3:50)
B2.   Billy Paul - New Day, New World Comin'   (4:30)
B3.   Archie Bell & The Drells - Old People   (3:45)
B4.   Intruders - Save The Children   (4:12)
B5.   Harold Melvin And The Blue Notes - Everybody's Talkin'   (3:51)

Release:  1977
Format:   LP
Genre:   Philly Soul
Label:   PIR Records
Catalog#   PIR 82198

Vinyl:  VG+
Cover:  VG+

Prijs:  €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment