September 25, 2020

The Cure - The Head On The Door (1985) - €10,00

The Head on the Door is the sixth studio album by English rock band the Cure, released in August 1985 on record label Polydor.
This album marks the return of Simon Gallup in the group; he had performed and composed with Robert Smith and Lol Tolhurst on the dark trilogy Seventeen Seconds, Faith and Pornography. Guitarist Porl Thompson, who had played guitar during the very early days of the band, and also played keyboards and saxophone during The Top tour, became an official member. Drummer Boris Williams, who had previously worked with Thompson Twins, finally joined the ensemble after playing with the band during the US leg of the 1984 tour. 
After recording one of their darkest albums, 1984's The Top, the Cure regrouped and shuffled their lineup, which changed their musical direction rather radically. While the band always had a pop element in their sound and even recorded one of the lightest songs of the '80s, "The Lovecats," The Head on the Door is where they become a hitmaking machine. 
The shiny, sleek production and laser-sharp melodies of "Inbetween Days" and "Close to Me" helped them become modern rock radio staples and the inspired videos had them in heavy rotation on MTV. The rest of the record didn't suffer for hooks and inventive arrangements either, making even the gloomiest songs like "Screw" and "Kyoto Song" sound radio-ready, and the inventive arrangements (the flamenco guitars and castanets of "The Blood," the lengthy and majestic intro to "Push," the swirling vocals on "The Baby Screams") give the album a musical depth previous efforts lacked. All without sacrificing an ounce of the emotion of the past, which songs as quietly desperate as "A Night Like This" and "Sinking" illustrate. With The Head on the Door, Robert Smith figured out how to make gloom and doom danceable and popular to both alternative and mainstream rock audiences. 
It was a feat the band managed to pull off for many years afterward, but never as concisely or as impressively as they did here. 

Side A
A1.  Inbetween Days - 2:55  
A2.  Kyoto Song - 4:00  
A3.  The Blood - 3:42  
A4.  Six Different Ways - 3:16  

Side B
B1.  Push - 4:28  
B2.  The Baby Screams - 3:43  
B3.  Close To Me - 3:23  
B4.  A Night Like This - 4:12  
B5.  Screw - 2:35  
B6.  Sinking - 4:50 

Release: 1985
Format: LP
Genre: New Wave
Label: Polydor Records
Catalog# 927231-1

Vinyl: VG+
Hoes: VG+

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment