March 09, 2021

Published March 09, 2021 by Ad-Vinylrecords with 0 comment

Duncan Browne - The Wild Places (1978) - €10,00

The Wild Places is the third studio album by English singer-songwriter and musician Duncan Browne. Released in 1978 through Logo and Sire Records, it is Browne's first solo album since his departure from the band Metro that year, and features contributions from session musicians Tony Hymas, John Giblin and Simon Phillips. In contrast to his previous self-titled solo record, the sound of the album is fully electric and ranges from progressive rock to straightforward rock music and synthpop.
Following his stint in the group Metro with Sean Lyons and Peter Godwin, Duncan Browne turned up in 1978 with his first solo album since the dawn of the '70s. 
The Wild Places isn't much like his Immediate album Give Me, Take You -- indeed, it's more like a lost Roxy Music album, or perhaps a lost Bryan Ferry record. 
It's electric, and the music has a sense of drama as well as beautiful melodies that were even better realized, with lush contributions on the synthesizer and related keyboards by Tony Hymas and a fierce guitar sound courtesy of Browne himself, aided by the upfront presence of John Giblin and Simon Phillips on bass and drums, respectively. 
The music runs the gamut from edgy progressive rock to straight-ahead rock & roll (the latter highlighted by "The Crash"), though Browne was at the top of his game, as both a singer and composer, working in an introspective, romantic vein, as on the killer title cut and numbers like "Roman Vecu" and "Kisarazu."

Side one
1.  The Wild Places  (6:01)
2.  Roman Vecu  (4:44)
3.  Camino Real (Pt. 1,2 & 3)  (8:28)

Side two
1.  Samurai  (4:29)
2.  Kisarazu  (7:11)
3.  The Clash  (3:53)
4.  Planet Earth  (6:24)

Release:  1978
Format:  LP
Genre: Synth-pop
Label:  Logo Records
Catalog#  5C062-62361

Vinyl.  VG
Cover:  VG

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment