Published Tuesday, February 04, 2014 by with 0 comment

Andrew Lloyd Webber (London Cast) - Evita (1976)

Artist:  Andrew Lloyd Webber (London Cast)
Title: Evita
Release: 1976
Format: 2LP
Label: MCA Records
Catalog# 5C 154-98344

“Evita” is a musical with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Tim Rice. It concentrates on the life of Argentine political leader Eva Perón, the second wife of Argentine president Juan Perón. The story follows Evita's early life, rise to power, charity work, and eventual death.
The musical began as a rock opera, and the songs were released on a two-album record set which became a smash hit. The album was recorded at Olympic Studios in London from April to September 1976 and released later that year. Some of the songs made it to the top of the charts in Britain,
Elements of the original plotline on this album were removed before the show was staged in London in 1978. Rice had included details about the character of "Che" attempting to market an insecticide, most significantly in the song "The Lady's Got Potential". The track was cut from the score and a new song written to include the key plotline of Eva Perón's rise to power: "The Art of the Possible". The libretto and synopsis record "Part One" as ending after the balcony scene following "Don't Cry for Me, Argentina" and "Part Two" beginning with "High Flying, Adored". On both the original LP and subsequent compact disc releases, though, the recording is split such that the balcony scene begins the second half. This split point was retained for the London stage production.

Side one
1.  A Cinema In Bueno Aires, 26 July 1952  (1:18)
2.  Requiem For Evita / Oh What A Circus  (9:12)
3.  On This Night Of A Thousand Stars / Eva And Magaldi / Eva Beware Of The City  (7:10)
4.  Buenos Aires  (3:43)
5.  Goodnight And Thank You  (3:39)

Side two
1.  The Lady’s Got Potential  (4:38)
2.  Charity Concert / I’d Be Surprisingly Good For You  (6:10)
3.  Another Suitcase In Another Hall  (3:58)
4.  Dangerous Jade  (3:39)
5.  A New Argentina  (7:08)

Side three
1.  On The Balcony Of The Casa Rosada / Don’t Cry For Me Argentina  (9:10)
2.  High Flying, Adored  (4:26)
3.  Rainbow High  (2:31)
4.  Rainbow Tour  (5:17)
5.  The Actress Hasn’t Learned The Lines (You’d Like To Hear)  (2:33)
6.  And The Money Kept Rolling In (And Out)  (2:34)

Side four
1.  Santa Evita  (1:55)
2.  Waltz For Eva And Che  (3:42)
3.  She Is A Diamond  (2:57)
4.  Dice Are Rolling / Eva’s Sonnet  (6:10)
5.  Eva’s Final Broadcast  (3:33)
6.  Montage  (3:35)
7.  Lament  (3:58)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a Comment