Published Sunday, May 17, 2015 by with 0 comment

The Beatles - 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (1973)

Artist:  The Beatles
Title:  1962-1966 (The Red Album)
Release: 1973
Format:  2LP
Label:  Apple Records
Catalog#  5C 184-05307

1962-1966 (also known as "The Red Album") is a compilation record of songs by the English rock band The Beatles, spanning the years indicated in the title.
The album was compiled by Beatles manager Allen Klein. Even though the group had had success with cover versions of songs, most notably with "Twist and Shout", which made number 2 on the Billboard charts, only songs composed by the Beatles themselves were included.
Assembling a compilation of the Beatles is a difficult task, not only because they had an enormous number of hits, but also because singles didn't tell the full story; many of their album tracks were as important as the singles, if not more so. The double-album 1962-1966, commonly called The Red Album, does the job surprisingly well, hitting most of the group's major early hits and adding important album tracks like "You've Got to Hide Your Love Away," "Drive My Car," "Norwegian Wood," and "In My Life." Naturally, there are many great songs missing from the 26-track 1962-1966, and perhaps it would have made more sense to include the Revolver cuts on its companion volume, 1967-1970, yet The Red Album captures the essence of the Beatles' pre-Sgt. Pepper records.

Side one
1.  Love Me Do  (2:18)  
2.  Please Please Me  (1:58)  
3.  From Me To You  (1:56)  
4.  She Loves You  (2:19)  
5.  I Want To Hold Your Hand  (2:23)  
6.  All My Loving  (2:04)  
7.  Can't Buy Me Love  (2:10) 

Side two
1.  A Hard Day's Night  (2:29)  
2.  And I Love Her  (2:28)  
3.  Eight Days A Week  (2:42)  
4.  I Feel Fine  (2:20)  
5.  Ticket To Ride  (3:03)  
6.  Yesterday  (2:04) 

Side three
1.  Help!  (2:33)  
2.  You've Got To Hide Your Love Away  (2:06)  
3.  We Can Work It Out  (2:12)  
4.  Day Tripper  (2:48)  
5.  Drive My Car  (2:27)  
6.  Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)  (2:02) 

Side four
1.  Nowhere Man  (2:40)  
2.  Michelle  (2:41)  
3.  In My Life  (2:22)  
4.  Girl  (2:27)  
5.  Paperback Writer  (2:15)  
6.  Eleanor Rigby  (2:03)  
7.  Yellow Submarine  (2:46)

available at: http://www.ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Post a Comment