October 01, 2020

Dire Straits - Alchemy: Dire Straits Live (2LP) (1984) - €20,00

Alchemy: Dire Straits Live is a double album and the first live album by the British rock band Dire Straits, released on 16 March 1984 by Vertigo Records 
Recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon in London on 22–23 July 1983, the album features well-known songs from the band's first four albums, the ExtendedancEPlay EP and Knopfler's Local Hero soundtrack. Many of the songs have reworked arrangements and extended improvisational segments. 

Alchemy: Dire Straits Live was recorded live at the Hammersmith Odeon in London on 22–23 July 1983, the final two concerts of Dire Straits' eight-month Love Over Gold Tour promoting their album Love Over Gold. The concerts were recorded by Mick McKenna using the Rolling Stones Mobile unit. The recording was mixed at AIR Studios in London in November 1983. where Nigel Walker was the engineer.

"Tunnel of Love" is preceded by an otherwise unrecorded instrumental (actually faded in from the extended coda of "Portobello Belle", which was left off the album), already played on the 1981 tour, but here re-arranged to showcase Mel Collins' saxophone. It is followed by the brief "Carousel Waltz" intro and standard version of the song (with improvisation sections). 

The album cover artwork was adapted from a section of a painting by Brett Whiteley titled Alchemy 1974. Alchemy is a hypothetical process once believed to turn ordinary elements into gold. The image of a guitar with lips held by a hand was added for the album design. 
The original painting, done between 1972 and 1973, was composed of many different elements and on 18 wood panels 203 cm x 1615 cm x 9 cm. 
In terms of media it used everything from feathers and part of a bird's nest to a glass eye, shell, plugs and brain in a work that becomes a transmutation of sexual organic landscapes and mindscapes. It has been regarded as a self-portrait, a giant outpouring of energy and ideas brought forth over a long period of time. 

Side A
A1. Once Upon A Time In The West - 13:01  
A2. Romeo And Juliet - 8:24  

Side B
B1. Expresso Love - 5:41  
B2. Private Investigations - 7:16  
B3. Sultans Of Swing - 10:53  

Side C
C1. Two Young Lovers - 4:51  
C2. Tunnel Of Love - 14:43  

Side D
D1. Telegraph Road - 13:00  
D2. Solid Rock - 5:35  
D3. Going Home - Theme From 'Local Hero' - 5:09  

Release:  1984
Format:  2LP
Genre:  Rock
Label:  Vertigo Records ‎ 
Catalog#  818 243-1 

Vinyl:  VG+
Cover:  VG (Gatefold

Prijs: €20,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment