October 04, 2020

Santana - Inner Secrets (1978) - €10,00

Inner Secrets is the tenth studio album by Santana. It was released in 1978 and marks the start of the phase of Santana's career where he moved away from the fusion of Latin, jazz, rock and blues that marked his previous records and began to move towards an album-oriented rock direction. 
Since he had joined Santana in 1972, keyboard player Tom Coster had been Carlos Santana's right-hand man, playing, co-writing, co-producing, and generally taking the place of founding member Greg Rolie. But Coster left the band in the spring of 1978, to be replaced by keyboardist/guitarist Chris Solberg and keyboardist Chris Rhyme.
As such, the album's quality is widely disputed among fans. "Stormy" and "One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)" were both hit singles. In the Netherlands "Well All Right" was released as a single and reached #22 in the top 40. 

Several of the album's tracks are covers:
  • The "Dealer" portion of "Dealer/Spanish Rose" is a cover of the song "Dealer" by Traffic appearing on their 1967 album, Mr. Fantasy.
  • "One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)" is a cover of a Four Tops song "One Chain Don't Make No Prison" appearing on their 1974 album Meeting of the Minds, and as a single on the same year.
  • "Well All Right" is a cover of the Buddy Holly song "Well... All Right" (appearing as B-side of Holly's 1958 single "Heartbeat") and it was covered earlier by Blind Faith on their 1969 self-titled and only studio album Blind Faith.
  • "Stormy" is a cover of the Classics IV's 1968 top-10 hit (Hot 100 No. 5) and included on their 1968 album Mamas and Papas/Soul Train, and 1970 album Stormy.

The only two tracks on the album that were not released as singles are "Dealer/Spanish Rose" and "The Facts of Love".

The album cover photo by Norman Seeff divided the nine-piece lineup between the front and back cover, with Chris Solberg, Pete Escovedo, Raul Rekow and Greg Walker shown with Carlos Santana on the front while David Margen, Armando Peraza, Graham Lear and Chris Rhyne appeared on the back. 

Side A
A1. Dealer/Spanish Rose - 5:51
A2. Move On - 4:26
A3. One Chain (Don’t Make No Prison) - 7:13
A4. Stormy - 4:46

Side B
B1. Well All Right - 4:11
B2. Open Invitation - 4:47
B3. Life Is a Lady/Holiday - 3:48
B4. The Facts of Love - 5:32
B5. Wham! - 3:28

Release:  1978
Format:  LP
Genre:  Latin Rock
Label:  CBS Records
Catalog#  86075

Vinyl:  VG+
Hoes:  VG+

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment