October 11, 2020

Simple Minds - New Gold Dream (81–82–83–84) (1982) - €10,00

New Gold Dream (81–82–83–84) is the fifth studio album by Scottish band Simple Minds. The album was released in September 1982 by record label Virgin, and was a turning point for the band as they gained critical and commercial success in the UK and Europe.

One of Scotland's finest exports, Simple Minds deliver a strong synth-reared release on New Gold Dream. This album harks the darker side of the band's musicianship, and such material alludes to their forthcoming pop-stadium sound which hurled them into rock mainstream during the latter part of the '80s. They were still honing their artistic rowdiness, and Kerr's pursuing vocals were still hiding. 
But Simple Minds' skill of tapping into internal emotion is profound on songs such as "Someone, Somewhere in Summertime" and the album's title track. 
But the dance-oriented tracks like "Promised You a Miracle" and "Glittering Prize" are lushly layered in deep electronic beats -- it was only a matter of time for Simple Minds to expound upon such musical creativity which made them a household favorite through the 1980s. 

New Gold Dream originated in Simple Minds' unexpected popular and commercial success during an Australian tour with Icehouse, following the release of Sons and Fascination. The band was prompted by this experience to write "Promised You a Miracle" upon their return to Europe.

Jim Kerr recalled the production of the album as a wonderful time during the late spring and early summer of 1982 in which "everything we tried worked", adding: "There were no arguments. We were in love with what we were doing, playing it, listening to it. You don't get many periods in your life when it all goes your way."

The album was recorded over a five-month period at Rockfield Studio, The Townhouse and Oxford Manor, with pre-production at The Old Mill in Fife. During a short tour rehearsal in January 1982, the band wrote what would become the songs "King Is White and In the Crowd", "Hunter and the Hunted" and "Promised You a Miracle". The latter song proved pivotal to the musical direction of the album. "Promised You a Miracle" was unveiled in a Kid Jensen session for Radio 1 and released as a single in April 1982.

For the recording of the album producer Peter Walsh was recruited on the recommendation of guitarist Charlie Burchill, who had been impressed by Walsh's work on the remix of the band's previous single "Sweat in Bullet". During the recording sessions it became evident that the band's drummer Mike Ogletree didn't hit the mark. Walsh decided to recruit session drummer Mel Gaynor to play on the album and, following Ogletree's departure, Gaynor became a full-time member of the band.

Jazz keyboardist Herbie Hancock guested on the album and plays a synthesizer solo on the song "Hunter and the Hunted".

Side A
A1.  Someone, Somewhere in Summertime - 4:36
A2.  Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel - 3:49
A3.  Promised You A Miracle - 4:28
A4.  Big Sleep - 5:00
A5.  Somebody Up There Likes You - 5:02

Side B
B1.  New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) - 5:39
B2 . Glittering Prize - 4:33
B3.  Hunter and the Hunted - 5:55
B4.  King Is White and in the Crowd - 7:00

Release:  1982
Format:  LP
Genre:  New Wave
Label:   Virgin Records
Catalog#  204965

Vinyl:  VG+
Cover:  VG+

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment