October 19, 2020

Fleetwood Mac - Tango In The Night (1987) - €10,00

Tango in the Night is the fourteenth studio album by British-American rock band Fleetwood Mac. Released on 13 April 1987, it is the fifth and to date last studio album from the band's most successful line-up of Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie and Stevie Nicks, as Buckingham left the band later that year.

Produced by Buckingham with Richard Dashut, Tango in the Night began as one of Buckingham's solo projects, but by 1985 the production had morphed into Fleetwood Mac's next record. It contains several hit singles, including four US top 20 hits: "Big Love" (#5), "Seven Wonders" (#19), "Little Lies" (#4) and "Everywhere" (#14). Two other songs, "Family Man" (#90) and "Isn't It Midnight" were also released as singles to less chart success. 

Artistically and commercially, the Stevie Nicks/Lindsey Buckingham/Mick Fleetwood/Christine and John McVie edition of Fleetwood Mac had been on a roll for over a decade when Tango in the Night was released in early 1987. This would, unfortunately, be Buckingham's last album with the pop/rock supergroup -- and he definitely ended his association with the band on a creative high note. 

Serving as the album's main producer, Buckingham gives an edgy quality to everything from the haunting "Isn't It Midnight" to the poetic "Seven Wonders" to the dreamy "Everywhere." Though Buckingham doesn't over-produce, his thoughtful use of synthesizers is a major asset. Without question, "Family Man" and "Caroline" are among the best songs ever written by Buckingham, who consistently brings out the best in his colleagues on this superb album. 

The cover art for the album was a painting by Australian artist Brett-Livingstone Strong which was hanging in Buckingham's home. The painting is a homage to the 19th-century French painter Henri Rousseau, emulating his colourful jungle theme works such as The Snake Charmer and The Repast of the Lion

Side A
A1. Big Love - 3:37  
A2. Seven Wonders - 3:38  
A3. Everywhere - 3:41  
A4. Caroline - 3:50  
A5. Tango In The Night - 3:56  
A6. Mystified - 3:06  

Side B
B1. Little Lies - 3:38  
B2. Family Man - 4:01  
B3. Welcome To The Room...Sara - 3:37  
B4. Isn't It Midnight - 4:06  
B5. When I See You Again - 3:47  
B6. You And I, Part II - 2:40 

Release:  1987
Format:  LP
Genre:  Pop
Label:  Warner Bros. Records
Catalog#  925 471-1

Vinyl:  VG
Cover: VG

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment