January 10, 2021

Queen - Soundtrack "Flash Gordon" (1980) - €10,00

Flash Gordon is the ninth studio album and first soundtrack album by the British rock band Queen, released on 8 December 1980 by EMI Records in the UK and on 27 January 1981 by Elektra Records in the US. It was one of two film soundtracks that they produced along with Highlander
It is the soundtrack to the science fiction film Flash Gordon and features lyrics on only two tracks. "Flash's Theme" was the only single to be released from the album, under the title "Flash".

While writing and recording The Game, Queen were asked by renowned movie director Dino DeLaurentis to provide the soundtrack for his upcoming sci-fi epic Flash Gordon. The band accepted and promptly began working on both albums simultaneously. 
Although at first many fans criticized Flash Gordon since it was issued as an official Queen release rather than a motion picture soundtrack, it has proven to be one of rock's better motion picture soundtracks over the years. 
The majority of the music is instrumental, with dialogue from the movie in place of Freddie Mercury's singing (only two tracks contain lyrics), but the songwriting is still unmistakably Queen. Highlights abound, such as "Football Fight," "Vultan's Theme (Attack of the Hawkmen)," "The Wedding March," and the heavy metal roar of "Battle Theme." 
But it was the two more conventional songs that were the album's two best tracks -- the anthemic U.K. Top Ten hit "Flash's Theme" and the woefully underrated rocker "The Hero." With Queen involved, Flash Gordon is certainly not your average, predictable soundtrack. 

Side A
A1.  Flash's Theme   (3:22)
A2.  In The Space Capsule (The Love Theme)   (2:21)
A3.  Ming's Theme (In The Court Of Ming The Merciless)   (2:53)
A4.  The Ring (Hypnotic Seduction Of Dale)   (1:15)
A5.  Football Fight   (1:29)
A6.  In The Death Cell (Love Theme Reprise)   (2:26)
A7.  Execution Of Flash   (0:43)
A8.  The Kiss (Aura Resurrects Flash)   (2:11)

Side B
B1.  Arboria (Planet Of The Tree Men)   (1:41) 
B2.  Escape From The Swamp   (1:37)
B3.  Flash To The Rescue   (2:47)
B4.  Vultan's Theme (Attack Of The Hawk Men)   (1:15)
B5.  Battle Theme   (2:20)
B6.  The Wedding March   (0:56)
B7.  Marriage Of Dale And Ming (And Flash Approaching)   (2:04)
B8.  Crash Dive On Mingo City   (0:46)
B9.  Flash's Theme Reprise (Victory Celebrations)   (1:39)
B10.  The Hero   (3:31)

Release:  1980
Format:   LP
Genre:  Rock, Filmscore
Label:   EMI Records
Catalog#  1A 062-64203

Vinyl:  VG
Cover:  VG

Prijs: €10,00

0 reacties:

Post a comment